Accreditation of prior learning (credit transfer)

What is accreditation of prior learning (APL)?

If you’ve recently studied a syllabus as part of a previous qualification, this may mean that you’re not required to take a particular unit/subject of your University of London International Programme degree, if we believe that the subject has been covered in the same breadth and depth. This is called accreditation of prior learning or APL. It is also sometimes known as ‘credit transfer.’

Accreditation of prior learning counts toward the total number of units/subjects you have to take to complete your degree. For example, if you’re credited from one unit/subject you only have to take 11 more to complete your degree (as opposed to the standard 12 units/subjects).

We offer two types of accreditation of prior learning:

Automatic accreditation of prior learning (APL)

There are certain qualifications which we accredit automatically. For details of automatic accreditation of prior learning please download the following:

Discretionary accreditation of prior learning (APL)

You may also apply for other courses you have studied to be given accreditation of prior learning on an individual - i.e. discretionary basis. You need to include this in your course application.

We can award APL for up to a maximum of four courses on undergraduate degrees, and, depending on the programme’s regulations, for up to two or three courses on the Diplomas of Higher Education.

To see where APL is permitted, refer to the Credit transfer and accreditation of prior learning section of the relevant Programme Specification and Regulations.

You will have to pay a fee, which is non-refundable, for each course that you want us to consider granting discretionary APL.

If we are not able to offer you APL, we will send you a letter to tell you that your request was unsuccessful.

What prior learning is likely to be eligible for accreditation?

Your previous study may be eligible to be accredited if:

- You have passed exams which compare in level, content and standard to the exams for the units from which you want to be exempted.