Assessment and examinations

How you are assessed

Assessment provides an opportunity for you to demonstrate relevant knowledge, understanding and skills. It is also a reliable measurement of your achievement of learning outcomes.

The standard of assessment for International Programmes students is the same as that for students studying at a Member Institution of the University of London. Assessment methods for individual programmes are often linked to how on-campus programmes are assessed.

Our Assessment Principles [pdf 1pg 94KB] guide our approach to securing the standard and rigour of our awards. These rigorous processes help to ensure that our awards are internationally recognised for their value. Many employers value the level of discipline required to succeed.

Assessment for most undergraduate programmes include timed unseen written examinations. Postgraduate programmes usually also include a dissertation, coursework and/or project reports.

The Programme Specifications and Programme Regulations include information on how you are assessed on your programme.

Where are exams held?

Timed unseen written examinations are usually held worldwide at a number of centres (usually the local Ministry of Education or the British Council).

Examination centres are completely independent from Teaching Institutions. You will face a local examination centre fee in addition to the examination entry fee.

Feedback on your performance

Individual feedback on timed unseen written exams is not provided. Other feedback varies from programme to programme.

You will be able to access examiners' commentaries, which identify the pros and cons of a sample of answers to past exam papers.

Your award

You are awarded a degree which is classified by the Board of Examiners according to the marks you have obtained. How your assessed work contributes to your degree classification is detailed in the Programme Regulations:

  • Undergraduate degrees are awarded with First Class Honours, Upper Second Class Honours, Lower Second Class Honours, Third Class Honours, or Pass, depending on the marks gained.
  • For some Graduate Diplomas (previously Diplomas for Graduates), Certificates of Higher Education (Cert HE) and Diplomas of Higher Education (Dip HE), where indicated in the relevant Regulations, a mark of Distinction or Merit may be awarded.
  • Postgraduate degrees, Postgraduate Certificates (PG Cert) and Postgraduate Diplomas (PG Dip) are awarded without classification. For some degrees, where indicated in the relevant Regulations, a mark of Distinction or Merit may be awarded.