Media - Global community

Our global community of former students and alumni include many exceptional people who have made their mark on the world.

Seven Nobel Prize Winners:

  • Sir Frederick Gowland Hopkins
  • Ronald Coase
  • Wole Soyinka
  • Derek Walcott
  • Rolph Payet
  • Nelson Mandela
  • Sir Charles Kao.

This list also includes academics (Asa Briggs, Kwasi Wiredu, Sir Geoffrey Elton); engineers (Sir Barnes Wallis); politicians (Dr Luisa Diogo, Gisela Stuart MP); and writers (H.G. Wells, Chinua Achebe, Malcolm Bradbury).

Today, our worldwide reputation continues to ensure our graduates are to be found in leading positions around the world.

Aare Afe Babalola, Honorary graduate

Aare Afe Babalola


Aare Afe Babalola has had over 51 years experience as a legal practitioner. His chambers have trained more than 1,000 lawyers, producing 15 Senior Advocates for Nigeria. In 2009 he set up the Afe Bablola University.

After completing a first degree, a Bsc in Economics, with the University of London International Programmes, he then studied for and was awarded. In 1963, Aare Afe Bablola was called to the Bar in England and went on to become a registered member of the Lincolns Inn, London as well as the Bar of England and Wales.

Previous to the establishment of his eponymous University he made a substantial contribution to higher education in Nigeria as the Pro-Chancellor of Lagos University, a position he held from 2001-2007.

Aare Afe Babalola was awarded the degree of Doctor of Laws Honoris Causa in March 2015.

Professor Sergey Yakovlev, honorary graduate

Professor Sergey Yakovlev

Director of the International College of Economics and Finance

Sergey Yakovlev is an innovative leader in Russian and international higher education. Having been through the Russian state system himself Sergey went on to identify the need for internationalisation. After graduating in Economics at Moscow State University (MSU) in 1972 he then completed a postgraduate award at the same institution in 1975.

After a two year post at the university as a professor, he then taught Economics in Portuguese at the State Law Institute, Guinea-Bissau. After this three year stint in Africa he then returned to MSU as Vice Dean. It was whilst he was in this position that the MSU faculty of economics opened up for broad cooperation with three top European universities, the London School of Economics, the Sorbonne, and Tilburg. These institutions were all within the TEMPUS framework developed by the European Union created to foster internationalisation and modernisation of Higher Education Institutions worldwide.
Professor Sergey Yakovlev was awarded the degree of Doctor of Science (Economics) Honoris Causa in March 2015.

Lee Kwok Cheong, honorary graduate

Lee Kwok Cheong

Chief Executive Officer, SIM Global Education

Lee Kwok Cheong was the founding Chief Executive Officer of ACS PTE Limited 1996-2005, one of Southeast Asia’s largest IT solutions providers, before moving to SIM global education. Born and raised in Hong Kong, in 1973 he won a place at Massachusetts Institute of Technology to pursue a degree in Management and Computer Science.

In 1983 he moved to Singapore and after six years of IT implementation in the civil service Dr Lee was given the responsibility of heading up the whole civil service computerisation program. In that role he masterminded the use of IT by Singapore’s civil service which then came to be recognised as amongst the best in the world. In the next decade Dr Lee moved across to the commercial world exporting Singapore’s IT expertise into the Dotcom era.

In 2005 Dr Lee made another career transition heading the Singapore Institute of Managements Global Education, which runs degree programmes in partnership with overseas universities including the University of London through its International Programmes.

Dr Lee Kwok Cheong was awarded the degree of Doctor of Science Honoris Causa in March 2016.