Colleges of the University of London

The University of London is a federal university comprising 18 Colleges and nine specialist Institutes.

In the following table, the Colleges and Institutes marked (*) are those which offer distance learning qualifications through the University of London International Programmes.

The academic direction of our programmes, which includes the development of syllabuses and learning resources, as well as the assessment of students, is the responsibility of a particular University of London College (or consortium of Colleges). This is referred to as the 'Lead College'.

You can read a short profile of these Colleges via the links below.

Colleges and Institutes of the University of London

Colleges Institutes
Birkbeck* School of Advanced Study:
  • Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
  • Institute of Classical Studies
  • Institute of Commonwealth Studies
  • Institute of English Studies
  • Institute of Historical Research
  • Institute of Latin American Studies
  • Institute of Modern Languages Research
  • Institute of Philosophy
  • Warburg Institute

The Human Rights Consortium

Central School of Speech and Drama
City, University of London
Courtauld Institute of Art
Heythrop College*
Institute of Cancer Research
King’s College London*
London Business School
London School of Economics and Political Science*
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine*
Queen Mary*
Royal Academy of Music University of London Institute in Paris
Royal Holloway*  
Royal Veterinary College*  
St George’s University of London  
SOAS, University of London*  
University College London (UCL)*: